Article 16: The Council for Foreign and Community Relations

  1. The  Council  for  Foreign  and  Community  Relations  shall  consist  of Ministers Responsible for the Foreign Affairs of Member States.  Each Member State shall be entitled to designate an alternate to represent it on COFCOR.
  1. Subject to the provisions of Article 12, COFCOR shall be responsible for determining relations between the Community and international organisations and Third States.
  1. Without prejudice to the generality of paragraph 2, COFCOR shall:

(a)        promote the development of friendly and mutually beneficial relations among the Member States;

(b)        establish measures to co-ordinate the foreign policies of the Member States of the Community, including proposals for joint representation, and seek to ensure, as far as practicable, the adoption of Community positions on major hemispheric and international issues;

(c)        co-ordinate the  positions  of  the  Member  States  in  inter-governmental organisations in whose activities such States participate;

(d)        collaborate with COTED in promoting and developing co-ordinated policies for  the  enhancement of  external economic and  trade relations of  the Community;

(e)        co-ordinate, in close consultation with the Member States, Community policy on international issues with the policies of States in the wider Caribbean Region in order to arrive at common positions in relation to Third States, groups of States and relevant inter-governmental organisations, and

(f)         undertake any additional functions remitted to it by the Conference, arising under this Treaty.


  1. Only Member States possessing the necessary competence with respect to the matters under consideration from time to time may take part in the deliberations of COFCOR.